Artists / Darius Rucker / New Music

Hootie & the Blowfish Return to Radio With “Hold On,” Available Now

Hootie & the Blowfish

After thrilling nearly three-quarters of a million fans on this summer’s critically-acclaimed Group Therapy TourHootie & the Blowfish are keeping the celebration going with the release of “Hold On,” the first single off forthcoming album Imperfect Circle.

Penned by Chris Stapleton and Jim Beavers, “Hold On” serves as the forthcoming album’s only outside cut – an uplifting track the band felt compelled to record as the perfect message for today’s society.

           People say, let it go 
           That’s just the way it is, don’t you know 
           But I don’t see how it can do any harm
           To keep reaching out with open arms, yeah

           We gotta hold on, we gotta hold on 
           There ain’t nothing that a little love can’t get us through 
           We gotta hold on, when it feels like hope is gone
           There is a remedy for you and me 
           We gotta hold on to each other, yeah

The song was the last the band recorded for the project, but frontman Darius Rucker notes that they had no doubts about it being the perfect choice to complete the album; “When I heard it, I was like ‘this is the song.’” Adds bassist Dean Felber, “I remember listening to it in the back of the bus and it was just perfect – what it meant to me and what it would mean in today’s world.”

From there, the band made it their own. “Our producer, Frank Rogers on that track, did a really nice job taking the guitar lick and pepping it up,” explains lead guitarist Mark Bryan, “and therefore we ended up kind of Hootie-izing it, which was fun.” Adds drummer Jim “Soni” Sonefeld, “I don’t think there was a song that summed up more of a vibe that we’ve had within our band, going back to the early nineties and sort of lifting each other up and looking out for one another.”

The single follows “Rollin’,” “Miss California” and “Lonely On A Saturday Night” as a preview of what’s to come on Imperfect Circle. Set for release November 1 on Universal Music Group’s Capitol Nashville imprint, the album is now available for pre-order HERE.

Imperfect Circle Track Listing:

  1. New Year’s Day (Hootie & the Blowfish, Tofer Brown, Eric Paslay and Jeff Trott)
  2. Miss California* (Hootie & the Blowfish, Andrew DeRoberts and David Ryan Harris)
  3. Wildfire Love (Featuring Lucie Silvas) (Hootie & the Blowfish, Joel Crouse, Kyle Rife and Ed Sheeran)
  4. Hold On* (Jim Beavers and Chris Stapleton)
  5. Turn It Up (Hootie & the Blowfish and Jeff Trott)
  6. Not Tonight (Hootie & the Blowfish, Andrew DeRoberts and David Ryan Harris)
  7. We Are One (Hootie & the Blowfish)
  8. Everybody But You* (Hootie & the Blowfish and Frank Rogers)
  9. Lonely On A Saturday Night (Hootie & the Blowfish, Eric Paslay and Jeff Trott)
  10. Why (Hootie & the Blowfish, Chris August and James Slater)
  11. Rollin’ (Hootie & the Blowfish, Adam Doleac, Zach Kale and John King)
  12. Half A Day Ahead (Hootie & the Blowfish)
  13. Change (Hootie & the Blowfish) 

             Album Produced by Jeff Trott
            *Produced by Frank Rogers

For more information, visit, and follow on Facebook @hootieandtheblowfish, Twitter @HootieTweets and Instagram @hootieofficial.

Get more stuff like this
in your inbox

Subscribe NOW and NEVER miss the latest country music news!

Share this country music news with friends:
Tags: , ,

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *


This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Get more stuff like this
in your inbox

Subscribe NOW and NEVER miss the latest country music news!