ACM Awards / Ashley McBryde / Award Shows / Bobby Bones / Brooks and Dunn / Caylee Hammack / Chris Janson / Chris Young / Kacey Musgraves / Lauren Alaina / Maddie and Tae / Martina McBride / Midland / Miranda Lambert / Tenille Townes / Trisha Yearwood

Academy of Country Music Celebrates Artists, Musicians and More at 13th Annual ACM Honors

Keith and Miranda ACM Honors 2019
Photo Credit: Nicole Palsa for Country Music Tattle Tale

Last night, the Academy of Country Music® presented the 13th Annual ACM Honors™, an evening dedicated to recognizing the special honorees and off-camera category winners from the 54th Academy of Country Music Awards™.

The event featured a star-studded lineup of live performances and award presentations celebrating Special Awards recipients Brooks & Dunn and Martina McBride (ACM Cliffie Stone Icon Award), Gayle Holcomb (ACM Gary Haber Lifting Lives Award), Miranda Lambert (ACM Gene Weed Milestone Award), Kacey Musgraves (ACM Jim Reeves International Award), Rodney Crowell, Kye Fleming and Billy Joe Shaver (ACM Poet’s Award) and A Star is Born (Tex Ritter Film Award).

Also honored were winners of the Industry and Studio Recording Awards, along with Songwriter of the Year Award winner, Shane McAnally. The evening was written and produced by the Academy’s Lisa Lee. 

Lending their musical talents, the house band for the evening’s celebration included ACM Studio Recording Winner, guitar player of the year Derek Wells as band leader, ACM Studio Recording Winner, piano/keyboard player of the year Dave Cohen on keyboards, Justin Schipper and Kris Donegan on guitar/utility, Mike Rinne on bass/upright, and Evan Hutchings on drums. Backing vocalists for the event were Lo Carter and Jason Eskridge.

Introduced this evening, ACM Charity Buzz, an online auction featuring signed ACM guitars, VIP show tickets, and more. All proceeds go to ACM Lifting Lives® to continue improving lives through the power of music.

Highlights from the event include:

  • Interim ACM Executive Director RAC Clark opened the evening and welcomed Chris Young to the stage for a performance of “Leaving Louisiana in the Broad Daylight” in tribute to ACM Poet’s Award winner Rodney Crowell. Later in the evening Hannah Crowell accepted the award on behalf of her father, who was unable to attend
  • Bobby Bones presented both the ACM Industry Awards and ACM Studio Recording Awards.
  • Caylee Hammack and Lauren Alaina performed a medley of “Broken Wing” and “Independence Day,” respectively, in tribute to Martina McBride. Following the performance, Alaina presented McBride with the ACM Cliffie Stone Icon Award.
  • Chris Janson performed a medley of “Honky Tonk Heroes” and “I’m Just an Old Chunk of Coal” in tribute to Billy Joe Shaver, who was unable to attend. 
  • Tenille Townes and Maddie & Tae performed a medley of “Sleeping Single in a Double Bed” and “I Was Country When Country Wasn’t Cool,” respectively, in tribute to Kye Fleming before ACM Triple Crown Award winner, Barbara Mandrell made an appearance to present Fleming with the ACM Poet’s Award.
  • Trisha Yearwood presented Gayle Holcomb with the ACM Gary Haber Lifting Lives Award – and then surprised Holcomb and the audience with an unannounced performance, a sultry rendition of Frank Sinatra’s “One for My Baby (And One More for the Road). 
  • Ashley McBryde, joined by Chris Harris, performed “You’re Gonna Miss Me When I’m Gone” in tribute to Brooks & Dunn before they accepted the ACM Cliffe Stone Icon Award via in-house video.
  • Midland performed a medley of “Burn Out” and “Make a Little” in tribute to ACM Songwriter of the Year, Shane McAnally, before his acceptance speech. McAnally was previously announced as Songwriter of the Year at the ACM Party for a Cause: Stories, Songs & Stars event in Las Vegas, NV in April.
  • Following the acceptance of his award, McAnally returned to the stage to accept the ACM Jim Reeves International Award on behalf of his friend and frequent collaborator,Kacey Musgraves, who was unable to attend
  • A Star is Born music supervisors, Julia Michels and Julianne Jordan accepted the Tex Ritter Film Award on behalf of the film.
  • Reigning ACM Entertainer of the Year Keith Urban, and Miranda Lambert – the all-time most awarded artist in Academy history – ended the night with a performance of “The House That Built Me.” Following their performance, Lambert accepted the ACM Gene Weed Milestone Award.  

Get more stuff like this
in your inbox

Subscribe NOW and NEVER miss the latest country music news!

Share this country music news with friends:
Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

One Comment

  1. Hi there, all is going nicely here and ofcourse every one is sharing data,
    that’s genuinely fine, keep up writing.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *


This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Get more stuff like this
in your inbox

Subscribe NOW and NEVER miss the latest country music news!