Album Reviews / Artists / New Music

Kieran Kane an Rayna Gellert to Release The Ledges

Kieran Kane is a musician born in Queens, New York and is the owner of an independent record label by the name of Dead Reckoning Records. He has released a total of 11 albums and at one time this American country music artist was part of a duo named The O’Kanes.  They disbanded in 1990 when Kieran and the other half of the duo, Jamie O’Hara, went on to record solo albums of their own.

Rayna Gellert  is from Elkhart, Indiana and grew up specializing in singing and playing the violin in what we refer to as “old-time music”.  This music included a traditional fiddle and banjo and even though she was a trained classical violinist she also took up the old-time fiddle and joined a group named the Freight Hoppers and an all-female band, Uncle Earl.

The Ledges is a place along the banks of Great Sacandaga Lake, situated in Adirondack Park in northern New York where rocks meet the deep waters of the reservoir.

These three entities – two musicians and one cabin on The Ledges – have been combined to create a unique sound of bunkhouse music resplendent with banjos, guitars, mandolins and fiddles.  There is no expensive recording studio in this production – it is strictly done with microphones, instruments and people.

The music is raw and inviting – reaching into one’s heart and soul and pulling out deep emotion and life’s lessons set to music.  The folksy banjo picking is a constant in the songs as well as the melodious harmonies that seemingly flow flawlessly and easily from the combination of voices from Kieran Kane and Rayna Gellert.  The simplicity of the music and lyrics gives to an easy and relaxing listening experience that puts the listener in the bunkhouse at The Ledges for the duration of the EP.

There are eleven tracks on the EP due to release on February 16, 2018:

  1. Wouldn’t Be The First Time
  2. Cold Air
  3. I Don’t Know Why
  4. Go Forth And Multiply
  5. Miles
  6. 15 Acres
  7. You Don’t Know Me
  8. Where’s My Baby
  9. One More Time
  10. I Wanna See Something New
  11. Take Your Burden To The Lord

I was unable to actually pick one favorite as I loved them all so you will need to download the new EP when available and pick your own favorite – it will be well worth the effort.

Get more stuff like this
in your inbox

Subscribe NOW and NEVER miss the latest country music news!

Share this country music news with friends:
Tags: , ,

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *


This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Get more stuff like this
in your inbox

Subscribe NOW and NEVER miss the latest country music news!