Album Reviews / Dustin Lynch / New Music

Album Review: Dustin Lynch Takes You Backstage With “Current Mood”

dustin lynch

Courtesy of Broken Bow Records


In an era of singles, Dustin Lynch has managed to create an album that can stand on its own to fit any mood fans may be in. From an aching country ballad to a dark, punk flavored rock tune, “Current Mood” covers your multi-genre playlist needs. Dustin co-wrote 7 of the tracks, so it’s a glimpse into his off-stage life as well. He seems confident, playful, sultry, and a little nostalgic these days.

For fans who loved his breakout hit “Cowboys and Angels,” they’ll love his stunning traditional collaboration with Karen Fairchild of Little Big Town. “Love Me or Leave Me Alone” sounds like a slightly worn vinyl record with a pleading urgency for love.

The most surprising track is “Here We Come,” a dark, yet empowering, song with distorted guitar licks and references to small town life.

If you’ve ever seen Dustin in concert, you know that he puts on a high-energy show.  This album has those tailgate jams too, like the number one single “Seein Red,” the aptly named “Party Song” and “Why Not Tonight.” As much flack as artists often get for these types of songs, they’re the perfect fit for summer tours full of fans looking to let loose and have a good time.

Dustin is also known for the sultry low range of his voice, which serves him well on the slow jam “Back On It,” an ode to love addiction.

It’s easy to hear how he’s also been influenced be contemporary pop styles in songs like “I’d Be Jealous Too,” which has a similar vibe to Justin Bieber’s “Love Yourself.” Other pop-flavored songs on the album include “New Girl” and “Sun Don’t Go Down on That.”

When you go to make your next playlist, “Current Mood” likely has just what you’re looking for.

Track list:

  1. “I’d Be Jealous Too” (Dustin Lynch, Ross Copperman, Jon Nite)
  2. “Seein’ Red” (Tully Kennedy, Kurt Allison, Steve Bogard, Jason Sever)
  3. “Small Town Boy” (Rhett Akins, Ben Hayslip, Kyle Fishman)
    4. “Why We Call Each Other” (Dustin Lynch, Lee Miller, Ross Copperman)
    5. “Here We Come” (Dustin Lynch, Zach Crowell, Jon Nite)
  4. “Love Me or Leave Me Alone” (Dustin Christensen, Chris Gelbuda)
  5. “Back On It” (Brent Anderson, Will Weatherly, Smith Ahnquist)
  6. “I Wish You Were Beer” (Jon Nite, Josh Osborne, Justin Ebach)
  7. “State Lines” (Dustin Lynch, Kyle Fishman, Andy Albert)
  8. “Party Song” (Brett Tyler, Craig Wiseman, Morgan Wallen)
  9. “New Girl” (Dustin Lynch, Zach Crowell, Ashley Gorley)
  10. “Why Not Tonight” (Dustin Lynch, Jimmy Robbins, Jon Nite)
  11. “Sun Don’t Go Down On That” (Dustin Lynch, Ross Copperman, Jon Nite)

You can catch Dustin on his headlining “Ride or Die” tour this fall with Michael Ray, LanCo, and Ryan Hurd. Dates:

Get more stuff like this
in your inbox

Subscribe NOW and NEVER miss the latest country music news!

Share this country music news with friends:
Tags: ,

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *


This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Get more stuff like this
in your inbox

Subscribe NOW and NEVER miss the latest country music news!