Country Music News

CMA Honors Triple Play Award Winning Songwriters

Triple Play Winners

Photo Credit: Donn Jones / CMA

Twenty of Nashville’s top songwriters were recognized with CMA Triple Play Awards during the Eighth Annual CMA Songwriters Luncheon Wednesday at Marathon Music Works in Nashville. This prestigious trophy is presented to songwriters who pen three No. 1 songs within a 12-month period. The luncheon was hosted by Troy Tomlinson, President and CEO of Sony/ATV Music Nashville and CMA Board member.

“Songwriters are often honored for their creativity, and rightly so,” said Tomlinson. “The Triple Play Awards honor not only that creativity inherent in the craft, but also the work ethic it takes to achieve the milestone of three chart-topping songs in 12 months.”

Ross Copperman received two trophies in recognition for six No. 1 songs, bringing his total Triple Play Awards count to four.
“I know there are a lot of people here with a dream like I had and I’m thankful it’s turned into a career,” remarked Copperman. “For fans to drive these songs to No. 1 and then to receive this recognition from CMA is such an honor.”

Many Triple Play Award recipients were in attendance, including Rhett Akins, Luke Bryan, Rodney Clawson, Copperman, Zach Crowell, Dallas Davidson, Brett Eldredge, Jesse Frasure, Ashley Gorley, Matt Jenkins, Luke Laird, Hillary Lindsey, Shane McAnally, Niko Moon, Shay Mooney, Cole Swindell, and Craig Wiseman.

Each winner received a video message from a fellow recipient that played before each Award presentation. Triple Play recipients Zac Brown, Jon Nite, and Carrie Underwood joined in with fellow honorees by submitting special congratulatory video messages.

Eldredge, Frasure, Jenkins, Moon, and Mooney are first time Triple Play Awards recipients.
In alphabetical order, the CMA Triple Play Award recipients are:

• Rhett Akins: “Mind Reader,” “Huntin’, Fishin’ And Lovin’ Every Day,” “I Know Somebody”
• Zac Brown: “Homegrown,” “Loving You Easy,” “Beautiful Drug”
• Luke Bryan: “Strip It Down,” “Huntin’, Fishin’ And Lovin’ Every Day,” “Move”
• Rodney Clawson: “Confession,” “You Look Like I Need A Drink,” “May We All”
• Ross Copperman: “Break On Me,” “Drunk On Your Love,” “Confession,” “American Country Love Song,” “Setting The World On Fire,” “I Know Somebody”
• Zach Crowell: “Heartbeat,” “Church Bells,” “Middle Of A Memory”
• Dallas Davidson: “Tonight Looks Good On You,” “Kick The Dust Up,” “Huntin’, Fishin’ And Lovin’ Every Day”
• Brett Eldredge: “Mean To Me,” “Lose My Mind,” “Drunk On Your Love”
• Jesse Frasure: “Crash And Burn,” “I Like The Sound Of That,” “Fix”
• Ashley Gorley: “Heartbeat,” “You Should Be Here,” “T-Shirt”
• Matt Jenkins: “Confession,” “Setting The World On Fire,” “Song For Another Time”
• Luke Laird: “Gonna,” “T-Shirt,” “Head Over Boots”
• Hillary Lindsey: “Smoke Break,” “Church Bells,” “Blue Ain’t Your Color”
• Shane McAnally: “John Cougar, John Deere, John 3:16,” “Stay A Little Longer,” “T-Shirt”
• Niko Moon: “Homegrown,” “Loving You Easy,” “Beautiful Drug”
• Shay Mooney: “Nothin’ Like You,” “I Like The Sound Of That,” “From The Ground Up”
• Jon Nite: “Smoke,” “Strip It Down,” “Break On Me”
• Cole Swindell: “Ain’t Worth The Whiskey,” “Let Me See Ya Girl,” “You Should Be Here”
• Carrie Underwood: “Little Toy Guns,” “Smoke Break,” “Heartbeat”
• Craig Wiseman: “Anything Goes,” “Gonna,” “Came Here To Forget”

During the program, CMA also presented the Irving Waugh Award of Excellence posthumously to Donna Hilley, former Chief Executive Officer of Sony/ATV Music Publishing.

For more information, visit

Get more stuff like this
in your inbox

Subscribe NOW and NEVER miss the latest country music news!

Share this country music news with friends:
Tags: , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *


This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Get more stuff like this
in your inbox

Subscribe NOW and NEVER miss the latest country music news!