RSS Feed Follow me on Twitter! Country Music Tattle Tale on YouTube Country Music Tattle Tale on Flicker Follow Country Music Tattle Tale on Facebook Instagram

Archive for the ‘Willie Nelson’ Category

Willie Nelson Set to Receive His 5th Degree Black Belt

Willie Nelson

Willie Nelson will receive his 5th Degree Black Belt in the art of Gong Kwon Yu Sul, a modern Korean martial arts system. At a ceremony on Monday, April 28th at 7:30pm, Grand Master Sam Um will be promoting Nelson at his studio, Master Martial Arts, located at 3425 Bee Cave Rd C-4 in Austin, TX. The celebration takes place two days before Nelson’s birthday.

Nelson has been a practitioner of martial arts most of his life, starting with studying kung fu when he was a songwriter in Nashville. In the past 20 years he has been training in the art of Tae Kwon Do and Gong Kwon Yu Sul often practicing techniques while traveling on the road in his bus, Honeysuckle Rose. Just prior to his 80th birthday last year, Nelson told Men’s Health Magazine, “Really, all my life, Charles Atlas and Bruce Lee were on my mind. It’s a good form of exercise, especially as you get older. I went through school playing all kinds of sports. I played shortstop. I ran track. I played football. I was a pole vaulter. Then when I went to Nashville, I got into some martial arts and kung fu. I liked it. We used to offer kung fu lessons to the kids in town. It’s good for you.”

With a six-decade career and 200 plus albums, this iconic Texan is the creative genius behind the historic recordings of Crazy, Red Headed Stranger and Stardust. Willie Nelson has earned every conceivable award as a musician and amassed reputable credentials as an author, actor and activist.

Willie Nelson Talks Legalizing Pot & Hillary Clinton with Larry King

Willie Nelson

On the internet-only show “Larry King Now,” country music legend Willie Nelson invites Larry aboard his tour bus to discuss the origins of his love for marijuana, the movement towards full legalization of weed in America, and his thoughts on the 2016 election.

Willie admits to Larry that he started smoking as a kid saying, I started out as a kid smoking anything I could get.”   He also says that smoking weed has it’s benefits, “I felt better, I felt more relaxed.”

You can see the entire interview below or online HERE.

Willie Nelson’s Armadillo Disappears Again

Willie Nelson

It was hard to believe the first time it happened. But now it’s happened again. A stuffed armadillo that’s an on-stage mascot for Willie Nelson has been swiped a second time.

The most recent kidnapping of “Ol’ Dillo” happened after a show Monday night at a hotel near Las Vegas. Someone lifted the stuffed beast while Nelson did a meet-and-greet with audience members. The critter was returned the following day — after Nelson’s crew asked the hotel to check surveillance footage to help find the culprit. Ol’ Dillo was swiped after a show in New York State last fall. The armadillo was returned after that caper, too.


Willie Nelson to Be Inducted into the Austin City Limit’s Hall of Fame

Willie Nelson

Austin City Limits (ACL) announces today the launch of the Austin City Limits Hall of Fame in conjunction with the iconic television series’ upcoming 40th Anniversary. Celebrating the storied history of ACL, the Hall of Fame’s Inaugural Induction Ceremony will take place on Saturday, April 26th at ACL’s original home, KLRU’s legendary Studio 6A. Recognizing both artists and non-performers who have made the long-running show a music institution, the ceremony will honor the first class of inductees, featuring two legendary music acts, Willie Nelson and Stevie Ray Vaughan & Double Trouble, and a pair of individuals who have played an invaluable role in the genesis of the series, show creator Bill Arhos and longtime University of Texas football coach Darrell K. Royal.

Performers for this intimate evening include inductees and Doyle Bramhall II, Mike Farris, Buddy Guy, Emmylou Harris, Lyle Lovett, Lukas Nelson, Robert Randolph and Kenny Wayne Shepherd. Former University of Texas football head coach Mack Brown will participate in the inductions, as well as special guests. More information about performances and additional guests will be announced prior to the event. Details about the physical ACL Hall of Fame will also be unveiled at the ceremony.

Guitar legend Stevie Ray Vaughan and “Coach” Darrell K. Royal will be inducted posthumously during the ceremony. Willie Nelson, ACL show creator Bill Arhos and Vaughan’s longtime band Double Trouble, featuring Chris Layton, Tommy Shannon and Reese Wynans, will be inducted at the event. The Hall of Fame Induction Ceremony will be an annual event, honoring a new class of inductees each year. This year’s Inaugural ceremony will be an invitation-only benefit for ACL parent station KLRU-TV, Austin PBS.

“There are other Halls of Fame, but none quite like this,” says ACL Executive Producer Terry Lickona. “Austin City Limits has become a unique American institution, in both the worlds of popular music and television. It has such a rich history and legacy that we decided it was time to celebrate and honor the artists and individuals who made it what it is today.”

ACL began broadcasting in 1976 as a live-music show that served to showcase musicians; it has since grown to feature performers of all genres from all over the globe. Since its inception, the Peabody Award-winning series has become an institution that’s helped secure Austin’s reputation as the Live Music Capital of the World. ACL continues its mission of producing great television with the debut of its 40th Season in October 2014. The program airs weekly on PBS stations nationwide and episodes are made available online at

Get Your Austin City Limits tickets Here!

Willie Nelson Shares His Favorite Past Time with Jimmy Kimmel – VIDEO

Willie Nelson received a Texas-size standing ovation when he appeared on Jimmy Kimmel Live from Austin Friday (3/14). The country crooner talked about his favorite past time (any guesses?) and how important SXSW is for the city.

Category !NoTitle

Recent Comments

  • Sherman Mohr: In the “Who Knew” catagory Willie Nelson will rece...
  • Edie: Never read the tabloids and you can see they love ...
  • Gloria: Now they are also picking on Keith and Nicole! Al...
  • Gloria: Keith is just so funny and so adorable!! AI has t...
  • Gloria: WOW...that was just plain awesome!! Sure wish cou...
  • Dawn: I heard Luke in an interview saying he wants to ke...
  • Irene: What a hoot. Urban has a great sense of humor....