RSS Feed Follow me on Twitter! Country Music Tattle Tale on YouTube Country Music Tattle Tale on Flicker Follow Country Music Tattle Tale on Facebook Instagram

Archive for the ‘Garth Brooks’ Category

Garth Brooks Paid $1 Million to Open His Comeback Tour in Illinois

Garth Brooks

The town of Rosemont, Ill., paid country superstar Garth Brooks more than $1 million to launch his comeback tour last year at its Allstate Arena, records show, but officials say the village made twice that much.

According to an agreement between the municipality and the singer’s longtime promoter, Garth received $1,050,000 as a “rebate” for holding 11 kickoff shows at the arena, which is just outside Chicago. The disclosure ended the village’s five-month legal battle to keep secret the financial details surrounding Garths’ record-breaking concert stand, which sold more than 183,500 tickets.

Under the deal, Rosemont agreed to pay Brooks $100,000 per sold-out show and a prorated sum for shows that didn’t sell out. The village also slashed the arena’s rental fee in an effort to lure Brooks’ September 2014 performances, records show.

The documents’ release comes nearly a month after the Illinois attorney general’s office ruled that the village violated state open-records laws when it refused to provide the Tribune a copy of the agreement.

Under Garths’ deal, the singer paid about $40,000 to rent the arena for his first show in early September and as little as $35,000 for the others. Village officials would not provide the standard rental rate for the arena, but documents show Garth received a discount for all 11 shows.

Rebates and rent discounts are commonplace in the concert industry. Rosemont, however, has not released contracts with other musical acts, which would shed light on whether Garth received a typical deal.

Ben Farrell, Garth’s promoter, did not respond to requests for comment.

Before kicking off the tour, Garth told reporters that several cities were in the running to host his inaugural shows, which marked his first tour in 16 years. But he said he was drawn to Rosemont by Mayor Brad Stephens’ promise to do whatever it took to land the concerts.

“I can’t thank you enough,” Brooks told a smiling Stephens at a news conference before his first show.

With or without the financial incentives, Garth was poised to make money in Rosemont. With an estimated gross of $12 million, his Allstate Arena shows broke the North American sales record for a single city at the time.

Town spokesman Gary Mack defended the deal, saying the village still made more than $2 million from the concert stand after the rebate. The village, however, did not provide documentation to support that figure.


Garth Brooks’ Ireland Shows Are Subject Of New Play


Garth Brooks’ failed attempt to start his comeback tour in Ireland is now the subject of a play that’s about to run there. The Irish Independent reports dramatist Fiona Looney has written the play, “Are You There Garth? It’s Me Margaret.”

Garth had wanted to do five concerts in Dublin to kick off his tour, but the city council would only approve three, so he canceled the whole thing. The play focuses on a country music fan during the time of the city council’s debates with Garth. Looney says the play will run later this year in Galway, Cork, Limerick and Dublin.

Garth Brooks & Trisha Yearwood to Host ACM Lifting Lives Benefit Gala

Garth and Trisha

The Academy of Country Music’s philanthropic arm, ACM Lifting Lives®, announced today that country music luminaries Garth Brooks and Trisha Yearwood will host its first-ever fundraising gala on April 17, 2015, just two days before the 50th Academy of Country Music Awards. The “One Night, Two Cities, All Music” gala presented by Mattress Firm will consist of two shows taking place simultaneously at the Omni Dallas Hotel and the Fort Worth Zoo. The Omni Dallas Hotel gala will feature headliner and ACM Awards nominees Lady Antebellum, and a special performance by Hunter Hayes. Fort Worth Zoo will feature ACM Awards nominees including headliner Keith Urban, and a special performance by Little Big Town. Nancy O’Dell, Emmy®-award winning journalist and co-host of Entertainment Tonight, will join Brooks and Yearwood to co-host the Fort Worth gala.

Garth Brooks and Trisha Yearwood will alternate between both locations throughout the evening to entertain attendees in Dallas and Fort Worth. A host of celebrities along with prominent music industry and entertainment executives are scheduled to attend. The inaugural gala will kick off with a cocktail reception, followed by a dinner, live auction and a stellar line-up of performances by country music’s most celebrated artists.

ACM Lifting Lives will be donating funds raised from the gala to several Texas-based organizations including Garth Brooks’ charity, Teammates for Kids and the Child Life Zones in Children’s Health of Dallas and Cook Children’s of Fort Worth.

“The Academy has an almost 50-year history of charitable giving and wonderful relationships with Garth and Trisha. When Garth called about hosting this event, it was the culmination of years of hard work, and furthers the missions of our organizations – healing through the power of music, and improving lives by connecting fans, artists and the industry,” said Bob Romeo, CEO of the Academy of Country Music.

“Mattress Firm is passionate about improving lives and we are excited to partner with ACM Lifting Lives and their commitment to help others through music,” said Karrie Forbes, Mattress Firm Foundation Board Member and Chief Marketing Officer of Mattress Firm.

The “One Night, Two Cities, All Music” gala is among the highly-anticipated events held during the ACM Awards week culminating with the 50th Academy of Country Music Awards, Country Music’s Party of the Year®. The ceremony, co-hosted by Blake Shelton and Luke Bryan, will broadcast LIVE from AT&T Stadium in Arlington, TX on Sunday, April 19, 2015 at 8:00 PM live ET/delayed PT on the CBS Television Network.

For more information on the gala, including ticket inquiries and sponsorship opportunities, please contact ACM Lifting Lives at The “One Night, Two Cities, All Music” gala presented by Mattress Firm is produced by ACM Lifting Lives and Encore Live (, an event production company based in Fort Worth, Texas.


Garth Brooks Announces Sacramento Tour Date!


For the first time in over 17 years, The Garth Brooks World Tour with Trisha Yearwood is coming to Sacramento! The concerts will be Friday, March 27th 7:00 PM and Saturday, March 28th 7:00 PM atSleep Train Arena.

Tickets will be on sale Friday, February 13th at 10:00 AM PST. There will be an eight ticket limit per purchase. Tickets can be purchased at, or 1-800-745-3000 or Ticketmaster Express 1-866-448-7849. Please note there will be no ticket sales at the venue box office or Ticketmaster outlets on February 13th.

Tickets will cost $62.98 plus $3.15 tax, a $2.50 facility fee and a $6.25 service charge for a total of $74.88.

Category !NoTitle

Recent Comments

  • Sophia Lee: This has to be my second favorite article of the ...
  • Connor Kelly: At the least this is more enlightening than one ...
  • Gloria: are so lucky to have been there in pers...
  • Scarlett Ellis: This has to be my second favorite commentary in th...
  • Doreen Mann: I wish I could go and see the guys in Vegas. That ...
  • Heather: Not confirmed yet, but we have just heard a rumor ...
  • Heather: The girls at the Sorority house and I predicted a ...