RSS Feed Follow me on Twitter! Country Music Tattle Tale on YouTube Country Music Tattle Tale on Flicker Follow Country Music Tattle Tale on Facebook Instagram

Christmas with Scotty McCreery – Album Review

A Christmas with Scotty McCreery

Scotty McCreery just made his first entry into the “Guiness World Records Book” as the youngest male to enter the U.S. album charts at number 1 in 2011 with his debut album “Clear as Day” (“I Love You This Big” and “The Trouble with Girls”) and his Christmas album is now a must for all stocking stuffers or for under the tree! It would be a wonderful Christmas present to yourself for a download for your IPod, computer, etc.  He has brought the art of singing Christmas carols to a new level with the deep timbre of his magical country voice.

The album has 11 songs and Scotty sings them all to perfection.  His ability to change up to the tempo or tone down to the somberness of each song is amazing.  Some vocalists sound much the same as they sing each song – not so with Scotty as his vocal abilities are amazing.

The first song on the album, “Let It Snow” is as upbeat as it is classic and his voice flows through the verses and puts you right beside him visually as you listen to the words……looking at the delightful fire with no place to go….so.. let it snow, let it snow, let it snow!  (And let’s not forget “as we finally kiss goodnight”….!)

“Christmas in Heaven” is about a loved one who is no longer celebrating Christmas on earth but the question is whether or not the snow is falling on the golden streets and if she is singing “Silent Night” with the angels.  The song is not as sad as it is hopeful in one’s mind of loved ones going on before us and celebrating Christmas in Heaven.

“Santa Claus is Back in Town” is a swinging rendition reminiscent of Elvis Presley complete with the ending of a great drum roll with “Oh C. C. C. Rider”…….!! I loved it!! What a great way to end the album! (He even kinda sounded like the King……! How fun is that?)

The album rounds out with “First Noel”, “Jingle Bells”, “Holly Jolly Christmas”, Winter Wonderland”, “Mary Did You Know?”, “Christmas Comin’ Round Again”, “O Holy Night”, and “The Christmas Song”

Scotty’s unique way of making every song on this album his very own is well worth the effort and it begs to take a listen and give a buy this year for new Christmas country music.

You can find the album downloadable from most electronic media as well as in your stores.  Run – don’t’ walk – Christmas is right around the corner and soon Santa Claus will be back in town!

Calamity Annie, CMTT Music Contributor
CalamityAnnie1 on Facebook, Twitter and MySpace

Both comments and pings are currently closed.

3 Responses to “Christmas with Scotty McCreery – Album Review”

  1. Roseann Schrichte says:

    THANK YOU for a fantastic review! I couldn’t agree with you more!Scotty shows so much versatality on this Christmas cd. His beautiful, country voice has gained depth and range since his American Idol days. We, his fans could not be more proud!

  2. JANIE STOCK says:


  3. Denise Clark says:

    Last year I heard him sing the first noel and I recorded it and I swear I played it over and over again. I have never heard anyone sing that song the way that he did! He is truly amazing.

Category !NoTitle

Recent Comments

  • Undeniably believe that which you stated. Your fav...
  • Gloria: I've really enjoyed listening to Glen Campbell ove...
  • Gloria: How does these rag magazines get away with the lie...
  • hosting company: Tremendous things here. I am very happy to peer yo...
  • Sherman Mohr: In the “Who Knew” catagory Willie Nelson will rece...
  • Edie: Never read the tabloids and you can see they love ...
  • Gloria: Now they are also picking on Keith and Nicole! Al...